In a balanced transportation model where supply equals demanda. all constraints are inequalitiesb. none of the constraints are equalitiesc. none of the constraints are inequalitiesd. all constraints are equalities
I tried to upload the pictures but for some resoan it keeps giving me an error. I uploaded them on my Flicker account.article:http://www.flickr.com/photos/77847106@N06/6984957966/questions:http://www.flickr.com/photos/77847106@N06/6984958112/Thanks a lot for everyone's help
When gasoline price goes up, HOW is demand for the following products affected: (a) SUVs; (b) hybrid cars; (c) beach hotels; (d) iPods?
In its first month of operations, Quirk Company made three purchases of merchandise in the following sequence: (1) 300 units at $6, (2) 400 units at $7, and (3) 200units at $8. Assuming there are 360 units on hand, compute the cost of the ending inventory under the (a) FIFO method and (b) LIFO method. Quirk uses a periodicinventory system.ending inventory for :a (FIFO method)b (LIFO method)
6. Proprty taxes on na manufacturing plant are an element of aProduct cost period cost1. yes no2. yes yes3. no yes4. no no7. the entry to record the acquistion of raw materials on account isa, Works in process inventory, accoutns payableb. manufacturing overhead, raw materials inventory, accounts payablec. accoutns payable, raw materials inventoryd. raw matierals inventory, accounts payable8.Many companies now manufacture products that are untouched by human hands. What do they use to acheive this ?a, activity based costingb.computer integrated manufacturingc.enterprise resourcing planning systemsd.total quality management systems9. Which one of the following costs would not be inventoriable?a. period costsb.factory insurance costsc.indirect materialsd.indirect labor costs
Junior Sayou, a financial analyst for Chargers Products, a manufacturer of stadiumbenches, must evaluate the risk and return of two assets, X and Y. The firm is consideringadding these assets to its diversified asset portfolio. To assess the return and riskof each asset, Junior gathered data on the annual cash flow and beginning- and end-of yearvalues of each asset over the immediately preceding 10 years, 2000–2009. Junior’s investigation suggests that both assets, on average, will tend to perform in thefuture just as they haveduring the past 10 years. He therefore believes that the expected annual return can beestimated by finding the average annual return for each asset over the past 10 years.Return Data for Assets X and Y, 2000–2009Asset X Asset YValue ValueYear Cash flow Beginning Ending Cash flow Beginning Ending2000 $1,000 $20,000 $22,000 $1,500 $20,000 $20,0002001 1,500 22,000 21,000 1,600 20,000 20,0002002 1,400 21,000 24,000 1,700 20,000 21,0002003 1,700 24,000 22,000 1,800 21,000 21,0002004 1,900 22,000 23,000 1,900 21,000 22,0002005 1,600 23,000 26,000 2,000 22,000 23,0002006 1,700 26,000 25,000 2,100 23,000 23,0002007 2,000 25,000 24,000 2,200 23,000 24,0002008 2,100 24,000 27,000 2,300 24,000 25,0002009 2,200 27,000 30,000 2,400 25,000 25,000Junior believes that each asset’s risk can be assessed in two ways: in isolation andas part of the firm’s diversified portfolio of assets. The risk of the assets in isolationcan be found by using the standard deviation and coefficient of variation of returnsover the past 10 years. The capital asset pricing model (CAPM) can be used to assessthe asset’s risk as part of the firm’s portfolio of assets. Applying some sophisticatedquantitative techniques, Junior estimated betas for assets X and Y of 1.60 and 1.10,respectively. In addition, he found that the risk-free rate is currently 7% and that themarket return is 10%.To Doa. Calculate the annual rate of return for each asset in each of the 10 precedingyears, and use those values to find the average annual return for each asset overthe 10-year period.b. Use the returns calculated in part a to find (1) the standard deviation and(2) the coefficient of variation of the returns for each asset over the 10-yearperiod 2000–2009.c. Use your findings in parts a and b to evaluate and discuss the return and riskassociated with each asset. Which asset appears to be preferable? Explain.d. Use the CAPM to find the required return for each asset. Compare this valuewith the average annual returns calculated in part a.e. Compare and contrast your findings in parts c and d. What recommendationswould you give Junior with regard to investing in either of the two assets?Explain to Junior why he is better off using beta rather than the standard deviationand coefficient of variation to assess the risk of each asset.f. Rework parts d and e under each of the following circumstances:(1) A rise of 1% in inflationary expectations causes the risk-free rate to rise to8% and the market return to rise to 11%.(2) As a result of favorable political events, investors suddenly become less riskaverse,causing the market return to drop by 1%, to 9%.
Given the standard autoregression AR(1)] Show that
Components of the accounting equation RequiredThe following three requirements are independent of each other.a. Craig's Cars has assets of $4,550 and net assets of $3,200. What is the amount of liabilities? What is the amount of claims?b. Heavenly Bakery has liabilities of $4,800 and equity of $5,400. What is the amount of assets?What is the amount of net assets?c. Bell's Candy Co. has assets of $49,200 and liabilities of $28,200. What is the amount of equity? What is the amount of net assets?
Concentration ratio measures the what?
Bird's Eye View manufactures satellite dishes used in residential and commercial installations for satellite-broadcasted television. For each unit, the following costsapply: $50 for direct material, $100 for direct labor, and $60 for variable overhead. The company's annual fixed overhead cost is $750,000; it uses expected capacityof 12,500 units produced as the basis for applying fixed overhead to products. A connussuib if 10% of the selling price is paid on each unit sold. Annual Fixed Sellingand Administrative expenses are $180,000.The first column is 2010, second is 2011Selling price per unit $500 $500Number of units sold $10,000 $12,000Number of units produced 12,500 11,000Beginning Inventory (units) 7,500 10,000Ending Inventory (units) 10,000 ?Prepare pre-tax income statements under absorption and variable costing for the years ending 2010, with any volume variance being charged to Cost of Good Sold.Reconcile the differences in income for the two methods.
A monopoly produces a good with a network externality at a constant marginal and average cost of 8. In the first period, its deman is p = 50 - (1/20)Q unless itsells at least Q = 630 units in the first period, in which case its inverse demand curve increases to p = 50 - (1/20β)Q where β > 0. The monopoly knows that itcan sell no output after the second period. The monopoly's objective is to maximize the sum of its profits over the two periods. Assume that the firm must chargethe same price to all consumers in each period, but can charge a different price in each period.(a) If β = 1.2, what price should the firm charge in the first period? What quantity will it set in the first period? What about in the second period? What willits total profits be?(b) If β = 2, what price should the firm charge in the first period? What quantity will it set in the first period? What about in the secondperiod? What will its total profits be? Answer part b on seperate post located here:http://www.cramster.com/answers-nov-10/economics/price-firm-charg-monopoly-produces-good-network-externality_1060401.aspx
The ALG Manufacturing Company has gathered the following information for the month of September:• 6,000 units in the beginning Work-in-Process Inventory (75% complete as to materials, 1/3 complete with respect to the conversion costs)• 60,000 units were started into production• 50,000 units were completed and transferred to the next department• The ending Work-in-Process Inventory is complete as to materials but only 3/8 complete with respect to conversion costs.What are the equivalent units of production (EUP) for materials in the month of September assuming ALG uses weighted-average process costing?Answera. 52,000 b. 64,500 c. 66,000 d. 61,500
The debits to Work in Process--Assembly Department for April, together with data concerning production, are as follows:April 1, work in process:Materials cost, 3,000 units $ 7,200Conversion costs, 3,000 units,40% completed 6,000Materials added during April, 10,000 units 25,000Conversion costs during April 30,800Goods finished during April, 12,000 units ---April 30 work in process, 1,000 units,40% completed ---All direct materials are placed in process at the beginning of the process and the first in first out method is used to cost inventories.The conversion cost per equivalent unit for April is:a. $2.48b. $2.75c. $2.50d. $5.25
On June 3, 1977, Alan borrowed $3,000 from Chan and gave Chan a promisory note at an annual rate of simple interest of 10% and a maturity date of May 15, 1978. Javierpurchased the note from Chan on December 20, 1977 based on a simple discount at an annual rate of 12%, with time measured using the "actual/actual" method. DetermineJavier's purchase price.Answer: $3126.73
Bubba’s Crawfish Processing Company uses a traditional overhead allocation based on direct labor hours. For the current year overhead is estimated at $2,250,000 anddirect labor hours are budgeted at 415,000 hours. Actual overhead was $2,200,000 and actual overhead hours worked were 422,000.(a) Calculate the predetermined overhead rate.(b) Calculate the overhead applied.(c) Determine the amount of overhead that is over/underapplied.
1.Using the following information calculate (a) net sales, (b) beginning merchandise inventory,(c) gross margin, and (d) net income. (show all calculations).Sales Salaries Expense $ 7,000Sales 90,000Ending Merchandise Inventory 16,000Purchases Returns and Allowance 500General and Administrative Expenses 11,000Sales Returns and Allowances 1,200Freight In 1,500Purchases 30,000Cost of Goods Sold 47,000
If a company switches from a traditional costing system to an activity-based costing system in which some activities are batch-level and product-level, costsordinarily shift from high-volume to low-volume products.a. TRUEb. FALSE
An insurance company promises to pay Jane $ 1 million on her65th birthday in return for one-time payment of $131,400 today.(Jane just turned 35.) At what rate ofinterest would Jane beindifferent between accepting the company's offer and investing thepremium on her own?
If a 5-year bond with a 8.00% coupon and a 11.00% yield to maturity is currently worth $889.12, how much will it be worth 1 year from now if interest rates areconstant? A $1,000.00 B $906.93 C $926.69 D $889.12